top of page

Christopher Wren

To all who downloaded A Magic Nation Christmas: Hope you  enjoyed my Christmas book! When I published it, I was certain that I had no more Christmas stories to tell. Then, this year, I had an experience worth telling. It should cheer you up!



We had our Christmas yesterday with my son and his family. Great day--skiing in the morning; Willie’s Restaurant for lunch; my house for gifts, games, baking, and cookies in the afternoon. The three kids (boy 17, boy 15, and girl 11) were smiling all day. No falls on the slopes, great weather, good food and service, perfect gifts!


By about 5:00, all were exhausted. The family packed up their car with all the goodies. When the 15-year-old started to walk out the front door, two birds––little wrens––flew in the house! The teenager waved his jacket; one bird flew out; he shut the front door. Then, we were all running around trying to get the other one out.


Our home has very high ceilings and a second floor loft. The house is extremely open. That little bird loved it. The oldest boy managed to shut every door inside the house. My husband got a fish net. My daughter in law is very tall and agile, so she was upstairs trying to net the bird. She had him twice, but he broke through the net both times. She climbed on the sofa up there and almost had him when he flew to a ceiling fan. He left the fan, flew downstairs, and nestled inside our Christmas tree! Meanwhile, we were all laughing, the 11 year old was giving explicit instructions on how to hold a bird without hurting it, and my husband was back in the garage looking for another fishnet.


We lightly shook the tree, and the wren flew on to investigate our kitchen. After about 20 minutes, the bird flew to a light hanging on a long chain in the hallway by the front door. My son turned off the light and turned the porch light on. The bird headed to the front door, the 15-year-old opened it wide, and Christopher Wren flew home! We all cheered. Just then, my husband emerged from the garage with more nets. We laughed so hard that we could hardly tell him the bird was out. It will be a Christmas to remember! I wish we could have taped it. Merry Christmas!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page