top of page

A Boy and the Queen

September 11, 2022


Yesterday was Grandparents’ Day. I believe that Queen Elizabeth II was the most well-known and well-loved grandparent of two centuries. The entire world and age groups from 2 to 102 felt they knew her.


One afternoon about four years ago, my husband and I picked up our grandchildren from elementary school. My grandson, in grade 5, was first to jump in the car right behind me. Before we left the parking lot, he leaned forward and asked me, “Grandma, What do you think of constitutional monarchy?”


Of course, I was shocked that a fifth grader would have knowledge of various political systems, but obviously, he did (thanks to Kramer Elementary). My husband, who was driving, whispered, “He must know you taught history and government.”


Instead of answering his question, I asked my grandson, “What do you think about it?”


My little granddaughter, in first grade, said, “I want to be a princess, but we don’t have any here.”


My grandson mentioned that he preferred our form of government, but went on to mention the positive aspects of constitutional monarchy. “They have one person who does all the ceremonial stuff. The queen gives out awards, knights people, attends big events, has dinner parties for presidents and other leaders, and travels all over the world. She has been doing it for over 50 years! Just think about it: our presidents are heads of state for no more than 8 years.”


At this point in time, I was even more shocked. Now I was aware that he knew our presidents served no more than 8 years, and one part of the job description was “head of state.”


Then my grandson moved on to Elizabeth herself. “That lady has more experience in meeting people than all our presidents. The Prime Minister can concentrate on other important things. I like that idea. Besides, the queen is always smiling and waving at people. She is amazing."


He leaned forward and whispered , "Did you know she is also a grandma?”



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page