top of page

Magic Fifth Graders

Near Martin Luther King Day in January, I spoke to 121 5th graders at North Dearborn Elementary School. Thanks to the Lawrenceburg (Indiana) Library System, each student was gifted a copy of The Magic Nation Playground, book 2 in the Magic Nation Tales series. The books were distributed before Christmas break. I requested the students read at least two of the short stories before my presentation: “Erik the Red” and “The Most Important Railroad.” “Erik” is a Christmas tale about a cardinal; “Railroad” is about the Underground Railroad in Ohio and Indiana. After the program, I asked for feedback on the book and suggestions for new stories. Check out my notes—some of their ideas are already included in newer books in the series, books the students had not read. I must think like a fifth grader. I was impressed by the fact that most of the children had read the entire book, not just the suggested two stories. As a former history teacher, it was wonderful to see such an interest in history. I’ll let the children speak for themselves. The following comments were anonymously written on index cards: “The best part of your book is the magic, which I found cool. When (and if) you make a new book, you should definitely keep the magic and history in it.” "I like how you put Ohio, Indiana, your family, and your life moments into your stories. It helped me relate to the stories more." “I love your books. They are inspiring and fun. I think a good idea for a new story is 'The Magic Nation Aquarium.' (Note: I guess I’ll need to learn more about fish.) “Your books made me feel like I was inside the story.” “I liked all the stories. All the characters are full of character. I think you should write about more historical moments with some tweeks. Your books are very exciting. You inspire me!” (Note: Book 3, The Magic Nation Day Camp includes two history stories: one about James K. Polk and one about Henry David Thoreau. A Magic Nation Christmas includes a story about Melchior, the Magi.) “I liked the dog. Mr. Charlie (the golden retriever) should have a wife and children.” (Note: Mr. Charlie falls in love with Scarlet Tanager, an Irish setter, in The Magic Nation Day Camp.) “Write a story where Erik gets trapped in a book!” (Note: Does a play count? Erik is in Gabrielle’s play in Day Camp.) “Write about the French and Indian War. I did not know that Indiana was once owned by France.” (Note: Maybe I’ll include a spy or two!) “Write a new book called The Magic Nation Science Lab.” (Wow! This sounds like a good idea!) “Write The Magic Nation Animal Show.” (Note: Joey hosts an animal show in The Magic Nation Day Camp.) “Write The Magic Nation Library.” (Note: A little free library exists in The Magic Nation Day Camp.) “I like the suspense. I like mysteries.” “I like your rhymes.” (Thanks! I wondered how children would react to my poems,) “I liked 'Erik the Red.' I think you should write more stories about the magic drawing paper.” (Note: You’ve got to read “Midnight in Perth” from Day Camp!) “I really like the Erik the Red part because I have Erik Davis’ baseball card!” Four or five students stayed after the program to chat. They thanked me for teaching about the Underground Railroad. One girl had visited the Levi Coffin house and another had seen the basement of Market Street Grill where runaway slaves were hidden. Just recently, the Barkshire House was honored in Rising Sun. They asked if it was open. Unfortunately, it is not yet open to the public. The following comments made my day: “Write a non-fiction story on the Underground Railroad and the houses that were used in it.” “I believe we should respect the Underground Railroad A LOT MORE!” “I wish I could go back in time and work on the Underground Railroad and help people.” “I thought it was a good book because it left us with something to think about.”

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page